2017 Radical Champions Crowned at Sunborn London

2017 Radical Champions Crowned at Sunborn London

Back to the news

Saturday 18th November saw the Radical family gather at the Sunborn London, for a night of celebration following a fantastic seasons’ racing in the UK and European championships.

Overlooking the O2 and Canary Wharf, following a top-class reception and a wonderful three course meal, the awards got underway. The 2017 highlight reel showcased the emotional highs and lows of the season and the 2018 calendar was launched. Radical’s customary non-championship awards were presented by members of the senior management and championship partners Dunlop Motorsport, Anglo American Oil and Grove & Dean Motorsport Insurance presented the championship awards to the 2017 champions.

Following presentation of the awards, the night drew to a close with entertainment from an excellent three-piece band the Teenage Kicks. Thank you to everyone involved in making 2017 another successful season, we look forward to seeing you again in a bigger and better 2018.

The prize winners:

Radical SR1 Cup

Fangio Trophy
3rd - David Tagg - Simon Green Motorsport
2nd - Nigel Paine - Stanbridge Motorsport
1st - Peter Devlin - Nielsen Racing

SR1 Cup Overall              
3rd- Andrew Ritchie - Nielsen Racing
2nd - James Pinkerton - Radical Works Team
1st - Jérôme de Sadeleer - 360 Racing

Radical Challenge

Team Challenge
3rd - Adrian Watt/Joe Watt - Valour Racing
2nd - Peter Tyler/Tom Gladdis - Nielsen Racing
1st - Brian Harvey/Tom Harvey - RAW Motorsport

Solo Challenge 
3rd - Jack Lang - Lang Sport
2nd - Dominik Jackson - RAW Motorsport
1st and Overall Champion - Oliver Barker - Nielsen Racing

European Masters

Fangio Trophy
3rd - Jim Booth - Valour Racing
2nd - Gerhard Watzinger - Radical Works Team
1st - John Caudwell/Stuart Moseley - Nielsen Racing

3rd - Andrew Ferguson/Jeremy Ferguson - RAW Motorsport
2nd - John Harrison - Nielsen Racing
1st - Jim Booth/Ryan Booth - Valour Racing

3rd - Jack Manchester - Scorpio Motorsport
2nd - John Caudwell/Stuart Moseley - Nielsen Racing
1st and Overall Champion - Jani Hjerppe - Nielsen Racing

Most Improved Driver, SR1 Cup
Nigel Paine - Stanbridge Motorsport

SR1 Cup Shootout Winner
Ryan Harper-Ellam

Privateer's Award
Jack Lang - Lang Sport

Scrutineer's Trophy
Darren Winter - 360 Racing

Technical Award
Valour Racing

Driver's Award
Keith Bisp - RAW Motorsport

Clerk's Award   
Jérôme de Sadeleer - 360 Racing

Radical Hall of Fame
Steve Burgess - RAW Motorsport