Radical Challenge Championship Set for Exciting 2017 Season Opener at Donington Park with Bumper Grid

Radical Challenge Championship Set for Exciting 2017 Season Opener at Donington Park with Bumper Grid

Back to the news

The 2017 season opener of the Radical Challenge Championship, at Donington Park on the 22nd April, is set to be an exciting and highly competitive event. With two weeks still to go, 31 teams form the grid – just one car away from the maximum grid size. The Radical Challenge Championship was born out of the previous UK series to offer a more diverse racing weekend than ever before at an even more competitive price. Large grids and close racing make it one of the most hotly-contested domestic sportscar series.

Donington sees entries from previous Radical champions including 2016 Radical Challenge victor Steve Burgess, multiple Radical UK and European champion Bradley Smith and current reigning European Masters champion Marcello Marateotto.

Amongst the nine competing race teams, two new teams are welcomed to the grid – Scorpio Motorsport with drivers Jack Manchester and Sean Byrne, and Valour Racing with drivers Joe and Adrian Watt and David Frankland.

Making their debut to Radical racing are Dominik Jackson, British GT convert Sean Byrne and father and son pairing of Joe and Adrian Watt.

Guyanese, second generation racer, Kristian Jeffrey also makes his full season debut following being crowned Winter Champion in the Suzuki Challenge SR3 series in the West Indies.

Alex Mortimer, Director of Radical Race Teams, commented, “Having successfully launched the championship in 2016, we’ve had a fantastic response from drivers wanting to compete in this year’s Radical Challenge Championship. With a capacity grid it’s going to be a thrilling and highly competitive race weekend; great for everyone involved.”

Drivers and teams as follows:

Steve Burgess 1 RAW Motorsport Solo
Dominik Jackson 4 RAW Motorsport Solo
Paul Allen/Jason Redding 5 Mansol Motorsport Team
Barry Liversidge 6 Privateer Solo
Spencer Bourne 8 Nielsen Solo
Konstantin Gugkaev 9 AUH Motorsport Solo
Jack Lang 11 Gorse Motors Solo
John Macleod 14 RAW Motorsport Solo
Jack Manchester 15 Scorpio Motorsport Solo
Sean Byrne 18 Scorpio Motorsport Solo
Mark Crader 20 Works Solo
Bradley Smith 21 Mectech Motorsport Solo
Oliver Barker 22 Nielsen Solo
Jason Rishover 23 Nielsen Solo
Elliot Goodman 28 RAW Motorsport Solo
Marcello Marateotto 29 RAW Motorsport Solo
Paul Pearce 42 RAW Motorsport Solo
Tony/James Barwell 44 RAW Motorsport Team
Mark Richards 52 360 Racing Solo
Joe/Adrian Watt 55 Valour Team
Brian Murphy 57 Orwin Solo
Kristian Jeffrey 61 Works Solo
Brian/Tom Harvey 64 RAW Motorsport Team
Brian Caudwell 66 Nielsen Solo
Pat Egan 76 Nielsen Solo
Peter Tyler/Tom Gladdis 80 Nielsen Team
Richard Baxter 88 Nielsen Solo
David Frankland 91 Valour/Double D Solo
Harry Cockill TBC RAW Motorsport Solo
TBC/TBC TBC Works Team