Radical’s Head for Silverstone GP

Radical’s Head for Silverstone GP

Both the Radical Challenge and SR1 Cup will share the same grid at Silverstone, as over 30 cars will line-up on the British Grand Prix Circuit this weekend.

Image of author By Radical
By Radical

Radical Challenge

Breakell Racing’s Noah Degnbol will be trying keep title rival James Lay behind, after the RAW Motorsports driver won all three races last time out at Snetterton, to add to his Brands Hatch win.

Currently third in the table for Mectech Motorsport is Anthony Ayres, with one win from Donington. he was third in all three races at Snetterton. He did have another win on the road at Brands Hatch, but lost out due to a penalty.

RAW’s John Macleod is one of the most experienced Radical drivers on the grid, but despite having three podiums, he is still seeking his first win of the year.

James Sweetnam is in his first full season with 360 Racing. He had a second at Brands Hatch and is currently fifth in the table, looking to step up to the podium again.

There have been three more winners from the nine races so far - first round winners Jason Rishover and Chris Short are out this weekend with DW Racing (Rishover) and RAW Motorsport (Short), however, 360's second round winner Cian Shields will be busy racing in the GB3 Championship.

Two other podium finishers are back though having missed the Snetterton rounds, Jacek Zielonka and Elliot Goodman both had third places at Donington and are part of the RAW squad this weekend.

Valour Racing will be running US racer Jim Booth in an SR10, along with Andrew Goord, Jack Yang, Lee Jackson and Andy Lowe, while RAW’s eight-car line-up is completed by Chris Preen, Chris Myhill and Ben Stone.

Wesley Fongenie joins Sweetnam with 360 and alongside Rishover DW Racing have regular driver Peter Tyler and John Davis.

The rest of the SR3 entry are solo entries from Doris Motorsport for Mark Williams, Scorpio Motorsport for Matt Jones and Puerto Rican Gustavo Rafols in a Radical Works Team car.

SR1 Cup

Unlike the SR3’s, there have been only two winners in the SR1 Cup, with Valour Racing’s Daryl De Leon on top in four out of six rounds to head the Championship.

DW’s Ben Caisley won the opening round at Donington and was victorious again at Brands Hatch, when De Leon retired from a comfortable lead.

After missing Donington Track Focused’s Frazer McFadden has had four podiums and is third in the table, with Works Driver Dougie Bolger the only other podium finisher out this weekend.

Former British GT racer Tom Wood is down to drive the Derby University car again too, but could well be changed again before race day.

The Works Team also field Rob Greenwood, James Ockenden  and Sally Erdmann, while at Valour, DW and Track Focused all have a second car, with Tom Fleming Valour, Paul Atherton at DW and Darren/Gorge Knutton at Track Focused.

Scorpio Motorsport’s James Hadley completes the line-up.

On Saturday, qualifying is at 9.00 for 20 minutes, with the first race at 12.25 and the second at 14.45 both over 20 minutes, with 20 minutes qualifying again at 9.00 on Sunday morning, before the final race over 40 minutes at 13.20.

Pre-race report by Peter Scherer for Radical Motorsport, July 29th 2022